Chervonohrad - city in Lviv oblast, located in the Buh Depression on the Buh River. The town was built in 1692 by the Polish magnate Feliks Kazimierz Potocki and was called Krystynopil until 1951. In 1736 Potocki built a palace and funded a Basilian monastery (including the baroque Church of Saint George). Until 1946 the town was a known religious center, attracting pilgrims by its miracle-working icon of the Mother of God. In the 19th century the Horodyshche Apostolos, Horodyshche Gospel, and the famous chronicle of 1763–79, which was reprinted several times, were part of the town’s valuable collection of historical monuments. After 1951 Chervonohrad became one of the centers of the then established Lviv-Volhynia Coal Basin, and it grew rapidly. Its population increased from 3,000 in 1939 to 12,000 in 1959, 44,000 in 1970, and 53,000 in 1977. Apart from several coal mines, the city has a reinforced-concrete and metal-products plant, a woodworking complex, a dairy, clothing and stocking factories, a branch of the Economics Faculty of Lviv University, and a mining tekhnikum. The Saint George monastery (see Krystynopil Monastery) of the Basilian monastic order was reopened in 1989.
Pototsky Palace. The palace was built for powerful Polish landowners Pototsky. It was designed by renowned architect Pierre Rico de Tirredzhelli. The architecture of the palace combines Baroque and early Classicism styles.
Today, the place is a branch of Lviv Museum of History of Religion.
Former Roman Catholic Church of the Holy Spirit. It is one of the most noticeable buildings in the city. The church was founded in 1692, together with the monastery of the Roman Catholic Order of Bernardine. In 1760, wooden buildings were destroyed by fire. The church was rebuilt in stone by means of Juzef-Feliciano Pototsky.
The building is constructed in the Baroque style. In 1951, the church was closed. In 1988, the building became the Church of St. Vladimir. B. Khmelnitsky Street, 20.
Monastery of St. Yur. The monastery was founded by S. Pototsky for the Greek-Catholic Order of Basilian in 1763. In 1771-1776, in place of wooden buildings, stone church and cells were built. The architecture combines the features of the late Baroque and Classicism.
The monastery was abolished by the Polish authorities in 1946. In 1980, the church building was a branch of Lviv Museum of History of Religion and Atheism, an art gallery was open in the cells.
In 1989, the museum was moved to Pototsky Palace. The church complex was returned to the Greek-Catholic community of the city.
Museum Sokalschina. The museum was opened to commemorate the 30th anniversary of Chervonohrad becoming the part of Ukraine in 1981. There are about 1,000 exhibits in the museum: unique collection of folk art, household items, furniture.
The pride of the museum is an exhibition of unique black ceramic and Pysankas (Easter eggs) of T. Gorodetsky.
The interior of Sokalsky house (the end of the 19th - beginning of the 20th centuries) may be interesting too. B. Khmelnitsky Street, 16.
Chervonohrad | Unexplored Ukraine
December 19, 2017